Dare to Dream

Great prompts today from NaPoWriMo (write a palinode – take back something you said in a previous poem) and Writer’s Digest (write a dare poem) sent me delving into my own poetic archives on my blog. I went all the way back to the first poem I posted here in 2010 entitled “Suicide of a Dream“. When I started this blog, I was in a very dark place in my life. So much has happened since then, some bad, but much good. This was a great opportunity to revisit a dark place and shed some fresh light on it. 

Created in Life Book 2014 with Effy Wild

Created in Life Book 2014 with Effy Wild

Broken mirrors and shattered glass –

Evidence of broken dreams

Are left behind, I have surpassed

The days of tears and screams.

I dared set foot outside the box

That kept me bound and chained.

On purpose now, I mismatch socks.

I’m creatively unrestrained.

I bled and cried for love of dance.

I’d given it all my heart.

That is until I took a chance

And risked it all on art.

Now I sculpt and paint and draw

As I seek serenity.

I sometimes see my own work with awe –

Award-winning artist – my new identity.

One thought on “Dare to Dream

Leave a Reply

