Morning Oops or Has This Ever Happened to You?

I have learned something about myself as a poet these past few days. Perhaps I already knew it, but it crystallized for me today. My poetic muse only speaks to me after dark. I’ve been home all day today pondering the prompts from NaPoWriMo (a morning poem) and Writer’s Digest (things are not as they seem) and could think of nothing until the sun was setting this evening. So I’m an evening poet. Artist by day, poet by night? Perhaps! The form of this one is of my own creation. Happy reading!

By Zanimum on Wikimedia Commons

By Zanimum on Wikimedia Commons

Alarm rings

Bird sings

I drag myself from bed

Morning news

Coffee brews

Clear the fog from my head

Dressed to kill

Must pay the bills

It’s time to go to work

Start the car

Don’t get far

Before I go berserk

Traffic’s clear

No one’s here

I drive without delay

Evil twist

Now I’m pissed

Because it’s Saturday

2 thoughts on “Morning Oops or Has This Ever Happened to You?

Leave a Reply

