Dickinson Redux

For the first time (so far) this month, the two prompts that I’ve been following refused to work nicely together. I ended up working solely with the prompt from the NaPoWriMo site where we were asked to rework an Emily Dickinson poem into something new. I’m not sure how different my poem is from her original, but it speaks my truth. The original poem is included below my own. 

Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons

Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons

If I can help one voice start speaking,

My life will be worthwhile;

If I can show them what they’re seeking,

Or share one smile,

Or help one child

Feel safe once again,

My life will be worthwhile.

***Original Poem by Emily Dickinson***

 If I can stop one heart from breaking,

I shall not live in vain;

If I can ease one life the aching,

Or cool one pain,

Or help one fainting robin

Unto his nest again,

I shall not live in vain.

2 thoughts on “Dickinson Redux

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Chasing Her Eclipse” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

