Naive Explorer

fifty-shades-of-greyI love the prompt from OctPoWriMo today! Much like the playful approach to yesterday’s collage poem, today was about finding a poem in a page of someone else’s words. I am a dedicated book lover and believe I could have found a poem on a page of nearly any book. Given my background, I was even tempted to try it with a page from a math textbook, but decided I wanted something else… something a bit more… adult. I ended up using the first page of Chapter 2 of E.L. James’ book 50 Shades of Grey. Yes, the content of my poem lines up with the content of the book. What can I say other than it suited my mood tonight?

 

Blackout Shades of Grey

 

heart pounding scramble

fortunately cleansing what’s left

equilibrium affected normally

limits feel foolish, imaginary

on the surface, irritated,

gladly brief

cruising toward his cryptic agenda, I shudder

elaborate pink aftermath of breaking bounds rather intense

innocent idiot

I didn’t think

5 thoughts on “Naive Explorer

  1. the process reminds me of scultping, carving away the stone to “find and release the statue within” — those books sure needed it! great concept and well-executed.

Leave a Reply

