I Beg Your Pardon, Da Vinci, Sir

By Leonardo da Vinci (File:Última_Cena_-_Da_Vinci_5.jpg) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

By Leonardo da Vinci (File:Última_Cena_-_Da_Vinci_5.jpg) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

“Painting is poetry that is seen rather than felt, and poetry is painting that is felt rather than seen.”
― Leonardo da Vinci

I beg your pardon, Da Vinci, sir,

but I have to disagree.

To fully understand its sense

a poem must be seen.

A poem, you see, is more than words

to be skimmed or read aloud.

A poem is shaped like sculptor’s clay,

careful not to overcrowd.

 Further, sir, you must understand

how your paintings make me feel.

For example, the Last Supper

makes that moment oh so real.

I feel a sense of angst among

the twelve apostles there,

and I feel impending doom

in Christ who is aware.

Knowing his death is close at hand

offering bread for them to share

like his body, it is broken

I feel confusion as they stare.

I hope that now you understand

your paintings make me feel

As I hope within my poetry

a vision doth reveal.

**Written in response to the quotation above provided on the OctPoWriMo blog.

6 thoughts on “I Beg Your Pardon, Da Vinci, Sir

    • i think it works…i get something along the lines of “we break bread with the body of Christ”

      in that sense, the author constructs a simile on top of a metaphor 🙂

Leave a Reply

