I Write Poems

Photo Credit: Elisa Xyz via publicdomainpictures.net

Photo Credit: Elisa Xyz via publicdomainpictures.net

I write poems

because I love words,

because words have power,

and creating with words is powerful.

I write poems

because I’m an artist.

The words are my paint

and the page is my canvas.

I write poems

to challenge my mind

and to keep me

from losing it completely.

I write poems

to bring attention

to issues that matter to me

and perhaps to you, too.

I write poems

because I’m a living, breathing being.

I inhale sights, sounds, and emotions.

I exhale poetry.

I write poems

not for money (though that would be nice)

but for the sheer joy

of creating something that wasn’t there before.

I write poems

for me.

And, like it or not,

for you, too.

Today’s OctPoWriMo prompt posed the question, “Why do you continue to write poetry every day?” Honestly, I didn’t feel like writing today. But I’m committed to this challenge. I know that I always feel better “having written” than not doing any writing at all. So, for whatever it’s worth, this is my offering for day 9.

One thought on “I Write Poems

Leave a Reply

