M is for Musette (and Masks)

Sometimes I write the poem and sometimes the poem chooses me to write it. What I mean by that is that sometimes I can choose a form, find a topic, and make it work. Other times, there’s a topic on my mind that is just looking for the right form to express itself. The latter was the case today. I wanted to write a Mirror Sestet, but this poem wouldn’t allow me to force it. It wanted to be a Musette instead. I still want to push myself to write a mirror sestet, but that will have to be for another day. 

Image by Karen Arnold

Image by Karen Arnold

True Beauty

Make-up

Is just a mask.

Wake up!

Beauty

Is more than your

Booty.

Your heart

Is the true work

Of art.

One thought on “M is for Musette (and Masks)

Leave a Reply

