H is for HexSonnetta and HELP

If you or someone you know is in an abusive relationship, GET HELP NOW. Go to The National Domestic Violence website or call 1-800-799-7233. 

domestic-violence

Today’s poetry form is a HexSonnetta.

 

Reach out your hand, my friend,

Just put your hand in mine

And take this as a sign.

Your broken heart will mend

The pain you will transcend.

Everything will be fine.

There’s no more need to fight.

Give yourself time to heal.

You are stronger than steel.

Know you’re doing what’s right.

Believe with all your might.

Trust the feelings you feel.

Too many times, he lied.

If you’d stayed, you’d have died.

3 thoughts on “H is for HexSonnetta and HELP

  1. Interesting form…tried to track the rhyme pattern in my head and it’s different…and really cool! I read your stuff and want to immediately rush out and try all these cool forms…so I try and then my brain stalls. Very impressed by what you’ve been doing though.

    As for the substance…this message is an important one and deserves as many formats as it can find. Very nice. 🙂

    • Thank you, Anna. I’m loving the challenge of the different forms. I’m anxious about tomorrow, though. My resource only shows one form starting with I; up until now I’ve had a choice. We’ll see how it goes!

      I don’t know where this content came from. I didn’t set out to write about domestic violence. I actually began with the prompt from Poets on the Page and wanted to write about a hand. Clearly, my muse knew someone needed this message today.

Leave a Reply

