D is for Duo Rhyme

Image from Amusement Planet

Image from Amusement Planet

Better late than never! I spent today at Busch Gardens Williamsburg with my two boys and was inspired to write today’s poem after riding Da Vinci’s Cradle. As a former math teacher and a new artist, Da Vinci is a huge source of inspiration to me. I even referenced him years ago in some research I was doing in graduate school! I have chosen the duo rhyme as my form for today. Since I wrote this after a long day in the warm spring sun, I feel some of it is rather forced, but what matters for April is just doing the writing. Editing comes later, right? 

Leonardo da Vinci [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Leonardo da Vinci [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Divine Da Vinci

 

A man most known for works of art,

Da Vinci was extremely smart.

Leonardo da Vinci [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Leonardo da Vinci [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Intrigued by proportion divine,

Within The Last Supper’s the sign,

The golden ratio guides design.

Mona Lisa’s smile is just fine

Because with phi he did confine

All his marks so that they would align.

Madonna On The Rocks consigns

A golden pyramid incline.

 

 

Though structures set this man apart,

His paintings still are filled with heart.

Leonardo da Vinci [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Leonardo da Vinci [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

3 thoughts on “D is for Duo Rhyme

  1. I am learning so much from you! 🙂 I was/am a math and English teacher. I taught for three-and-a-half years at a high school. Seems like we have a lot in common!

Leave a Reply

