C is for Compound Word Verse

Boy, did I find a challenge for myself today! By exploring poetic forms this month, I did intend to push my comfort zone boundaries a bit further by taking on forms that are new to me. For the letter “C”, there were some wonderful options that I was already familiar with – the cinquain, the clerihew, the clarity pyramid. Leave it to me to pick something that was deceptively simple! Here’s my first compound word verse

Image by Petr Kratochvil

Image by Petr Kratochvil

A Pirate’s Crossroad

Ahoy, my friends, for I’ve a tale

Of a young pirate who set sail

‘Neath crosswinds.

 

King’s ransom hidden in the hull

Of his great ship beneath the skull

And crossbones.

 

The handsome chap became appalled

When by a crewman he was called

A crossbreed.

 

A duel was called for on the deck

The captain managed to deflect.

The crossfire.

 

The snarky crewman then was slain

A cabin boy forced to maintain

The crossjack.

4 thoughts on “C is for Compound Word Verse

  1. Oh what fun! I have this terrible urge to try a compound word verse now. May have to play with that a bit later. Anyway…this was a fun poem (anything pirate tends toward fun) and had a great sense of rhythm to it. Was it hard to think of that many compound words that started with the same root word? I’m thinking that would be the hardest component of this form. Great job! 🙂

    • I actually chose the compound words first, then built the poem around crossbones. It was challenging to come up with the 8-syllable couplets that led into the compound words. Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

