A is for Alliterisen

For the A to Z blog challenge and National Poetry Writing Month, I am going to attempt using the poetic form as my “A to Z”. Today, I’ve chosen the invented form alliterisen. I found this form both challenging and fun to write. 

Image by Vera Kratochvil

Image by Vera Kratochvil

Manic moods and deep depression,

Induced insomnia, spending sleepless

Numb nights in wishful wanting.

Take two as directed with water.

Purple pills and pink pills,

Careful chemistry keeps control.

Feeling flat, even emotion.

15 thoughts on “A is for Alliterisen

    • Thanks! I am finding that using a form actually channels my creative muse into something more meaningful that when I attempt free verse. I suppose it’s my math brain in action. 🙂

  1. Hello from an a to z challenger.
    I’m touched by your courage.. I was trained in psych and witnessed the effects of all the sad, unfortunate things people do to other people.

    • Thank you. I am compelled to “put it out there” to be a voice for those who aren’t ready to talk about it. I appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to comment. 🙂

  2. If you had not left me a comment on Poetry Perfected, I would not have know about your site. I think this is one of the benefits of the blogging challenge. Awesome that it is working, huh? 😉

    You just taught me something, too, as I have never heard of this type of poetry before. Thank you for that!

    Very cool. 🙂

    • I agree about the blogging challenge. I was specifically searching for fellow poets to read and encourage. If you’re in need of a prompt at any time, I’m a contributor to the blog Poets on the Page. We do weekly prompts all year except April and October when we do daily prompts. We also have a Facebook group if you’re interested in connecting!

      • Thanks for the encouragement. Writing poetry is a hobby that I don’t have enough time for, which is why I joined the challenge. (Yes, this is a bit backward, my thinking…) 🙂

        I’d join a group but I don’t know how much I’d participate. Not trying to sound negative, just being honest.

  3. Popping in from Effy’s blog-along. Your poem is brilliant. I’ve never heard of this style poetry before. You executed it very well. This is why I love blog hops and the like, you get to find interesting people and cool content you would have otherwise never encountered. I homeschool my daughter who is in 8th grade, your post has given me a whole new lesson plan. Thank you!!! Though my daghter will most definitely not agree. (((HUGS)))

    • I am a former teacher, so I can certainly appreciate the value of discovering something you can use for a lesson! I use the Shadow Poetry website constantly when I’m writing. It’s an excellent resource and when you combine it with the RhymeZone website, it makes poetry writing much easier! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

