A New Adventure

Since taking Bloom True with Flora Bowley in May of 2013, I knew I wanted to take more art classes and explore visual art in ways that I somehow missed when I was a child. I was always the “artsy” kid, far more content to read, listen to music, or dance than anything else. When I reached middle school, we were forced to make a choice – art, band, or chorus. My choice would have been to take all three, but that wasn’t allowed. We could only pick one. Because I could already read music from years of piano lessons, I ended up in band.

Don’t misunderstand me here. I loved band. I loved the people in band with me. I had my piano and dance lessons in the evenings. You would think that would have been enough. But not for me.

Fast forward to now – I’m in my mid-40s and discovering painting and mixed media art for the first time in my life. And I’m LOVING it! Back in December, my mom asked what I wanted for Christmas. My answer was simple – I wanted another art class and I had it picked out already.

What a wonderful gift! I’m taking Life Book 2014 with Tamara Laporte and I get so excited on Mondays now when the new lessons become available. Seriously, who looks forward to Mondays? Me! I do!

For our first lesson, we were led through an exercise to discover our focus word for the year and to meet our inner artist guardian. My guardian gave me two words. She appeared with butterfly wings and I was ready to accept “transformation” as my word of the year. But she had other ideas.

I came to understand that for the past several years, I’ve been the caterpillar. I cocooned and transformed. Now the time had come to EMERGE and BECOME. This is the year that I break out of the  protective cocoon, spread my wings, and learn to fly.

In the coming weeks, look for more posts about my experiences in this wonderful course!

Inspired by this artist guardian of mine, I wrote the following blitz poem called “Moment in Time”.

2014-01-07 13.47.34

My inner artist guardian

This is the time.

This is your moment.

Moment of impact.

Moment is right.

Right now…

Right this second…

Your second chance.

Your second look.

Look to the future.

Look up.

Up the mountain.

Up to you.

You matter.

You can choose.

Choose joy.

Choose to live…

Live in the moment.

Live the dream.

Dream big.

Dream on.

On the fence.

On the make.

Make a difference!

Make a guess!

Guess who?

Guess what?

What you are

What you want

Want for nothing

Want to give…

Give from the heart.

Give it all.

All or nothing.

All about you.

You have to try.

You have to trust.

Trust the process.

Trust the feeling.

Feeling your heartbeat.

Feeling the need.

Need to surrender…

Need to give…

Give a damn.

Give yourself time.

Time to emerge.

Time to become.

Emerge…

Become…

Leave a Reply

