What Are You Looking At?

A couple of days ago, the prompt at OctPoWriMo asked us to write a poem inspired by one of several photos. I went a little different direction and used photos from a friend of mine instead of the ones from the prompt. But one of those photos kept haunting me. After I read poems by others based on the photo, it called to me more. I had to write this. The child gave me no choice. 

Fenced In 

What do you see when you look at me?

Do you see a boy or a girl?

Why? How do you know?

What if I’m neither… Or both…

 

What do you see when you look at me?

Do you see the color of my skin?

Why? Is it different from yours?

What if we look deeper that the surface…

 

What do you see when you look at me?

Do you see poverty?

Why? How do you know?

What if I’m better off than you…

 

What do you see when you look at me?

Do you see a victim?

Why? What makes you think so?

What if you’re the only victim here…

 

What do you see when you look at me?

Do you see the wall between us?

Why? Isn’t it just a fence?

What if there’s really no barrier between us at all…

 

What do you see when you look at me?

Do you see yourself reflected in my eyes?

Why? Are we the same?

What if we are…

6 thoughts on “What Are You Looking At?

  1. This is just excellent, thought-provoking piece, with brilliant lines throughout..this image spoke to me too, I’ve not had the time to sit down, write and post..I will hopefully do so over the weekend to catch up. 😁 great piece. ☺️✨

Leave a Reply

