Fabulous Fibonacci

For those participating in OctPoWriMo, I hope today’s prompt didn’t throw you. It was yet another selfish prompt from me to push me to write more poetry related to my (former) career as a math teacher. In fact, I hope you were able to see the numbers in your life as a source of beauty. Personally, mathematics has always been the order in my chaos. I enjoyed the patterns that could be found in numbers. My poem today is about one of my favorite patterns. I am sharing reference photos linked back to websites with more information in lieu of footnotes. It is my hope that you will explore this pattern in more depth and find the same awe-inspiring beauty that I do.

1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21, 34,...

1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21, 34,…

Found all around us

In nature, music, architecture, and art.

Bones in our body,

fingerOn a piano keyboard, 

piano

Nautilus shells spiral,

NAUTILUS

And a tightly closed fist.

fist

Close examination of

Cones from pine trees

pine-cone-fibonacci-spirals-300x297

Illustrates the repeating pattern.

 

Intelligent design of

So much of our world.

 

Bunny rabbit reproduction

Even follows the sequence.

Bunnies

And many plants show it, too.

sunflower

Universal spiral in our Milky Way.

galaxy1

Tree branching is not random.

Branching

Illustrations of the sequence

For us to try to

Understand the mysterious world

Left here for us to discover.

5 thoughts on “Fabulous Fibonacci

Leave a Reply

