An Un-Love Letter

I must take a moment and give a shout-out to our amazing leader over at OctPoWriMo, Morgan Dragonwillow. She has been such an incredible inspiration to me and countless others with her thought-provoking prompts, her own poetic prowess, and her gentle support of her fellow poets. Today was no exception with the prompt she offered. She challenged us to write a love letter from one inanimate object to another. I spent six hours on the road today, so I had plenty of time for ideas to surface, roll around, and be thrown out the window. I settled on a break-up letter instead of a love letter, but I know I’ll be returning to this prompt again! Thank you, Morgan, for everything you do for the poetry community.

click image to view source

click image to view source

I should have listened to my friends.

They told me we were too different,

That you were not to be trusted.

But I didn’t listen.

I couldn’t resist your fresh scent,

Your beautiful yellow color

And your massive size.

In the end,

Your size proved to be too much for me.

You constantly overshadowed me.

You tried to hold me,

But I slipped through your fingers

And landed flat on my face.

I’m sorry, dear haystack,

But this is the last straw.

I lost myself in you.

Now I need to find myself again.

 

With pointed regrets,

Needle.

click image for source mmp-stock

click image for source mmp-stock

7 thoughts on “An Un-Love Letter

  1. First let me second your appreciation for Morgan. OctPoWriMo has been such a pleasant reunion with poetry for me, one that won’t easily fade now I’m reobsessed! Second, I LOVED your poem! Really clever and awesome rhythm. Gonna read it again and again.

Leave a Reply

