Breaking News

 

 

Today’s prompt over at OctPoWriMo had me stumped for most of the day. We were invited to “make the news our muse.” I confess to rolling my eyes when I read it. You see, I’ve made a conscious choice to avoid mainstream news. I don’t read the newspaper. I don’t watch television news. I avoid news-based websites like a plague. So when I read the prompt today, my inner critic proclaimed loudly, “Ah-ha! Finally got you! You can’t write about something you don’t watch/read/listen to! Nyah-nyah-nyah-boo-boo!” At first, I accepted this and resigned myself to taking a day off from this 31 day challenge. However, in the stillness of the early evening, a little voice from deep within whispered, “You’re on the OctPo team. People are counting on you to lead by example. You can’t quit. Your poems matter.” So here it is, short and sweet. A tanka poem on today’s theme.

breaking news

 

 

Big, bold, black headline

Proclaims inconvenient truth:

YOU ARE A POET.

Your words matter to others.

Write or risk disappointment.

7 thoughts on “Breaking News

  1. I laughed out loud at how you motivated yourself to write this lovely poem. And smiled again to read it. How rare it is to simply say: “You ARE a poet.” Thank you.

    • You are VERY MUCH a poet! You write poetry, don’t you? That makes you a poet! I’m learning to stop thinking about Poetry and just write poetry. You know? šŸ˜‰

      Thank you for your kind comment.

Leave a Reply

