Get Out!

hinder-via-vevoNothing like covering two poetry prompts in one day! At OctPoWriMo yesterday, we were invited to write lyrics. I went a different direction, though. Today, the prompt was to write a “reply poem” to another poet. My “reply” surfaced as lyrics. I “heard” the refrain in my head and just starting writing. This is a country song in response to Hinder’s song “Lips of an Angel” (shared below). Suggestion: Watch/listen to Hinder’s song first. Then my lyrics will make more sense! I’m also posting a link to their lyrics for those that cannot listen at the moment.

LYRICS for Lips of an Angel HERE

 

I thought I heard your phone last night

At first I wasn’t sure, then I found I was right.

I heard you whispering, all talking low

You must think that I’m really slow

 

I heard you say, “I wish she was you”

You didn’t think I had a clue

She has the “lips of an angel”? Well, ain’t that sweet!

She makes it hard to be faithful? You sorry ass cheat!

 

(Refrain)

Here’s a letter that you wrote

And the promise that you broke

And the stupid ring you gave to me when I was just 16

Nobody could have saved me

Looks like you really played me

Just turn around and march right out that door…

I don’t want you anymore.

 

I’m tired of your shit. Take that to the bank.

Go get on with your life with that two bit skank

The things I heard you say to that ugly white trash

You used to say to me. Now you can kiss my country ass!

 

(Refrain)

Here’s a letter that you wrote

And the promise that you broke

And the stupid ring you gave to me

When I was just 16

Nobody could have saved me

Looks like you really played me

Just turn around and march right out that door…

I don’t want you anymore.

 

Get out of my house

Get out of my bed

Get out of my heart

Get out of my head

 

(Refrain)

Here’s a letter that you wrote

And the promise that you broke

And the stupid ring you gave to me

When I was just 16

Nobody could have saved me

Looks like you really played me

Just turn around and march right out that door…

I don’t want you anymore.

 

8 thoughts on “Get Out!

Leave a Reply

