Adrenaline Junkie

At OctPoWriMo today, the prompt invited us to consider butterflies – the feeling, not the insect. Personally, I’m far more comfortable writing/talking about the insect. However, I promised myself that I would adhere to the prompts as a personal challenge. I wrestled with this idea all day. I’m a performer at heart, so the things that usually cause butterflies for most people don’t seem to bother me. I can speak in front of a crowd. I can sing in public. I can dance on a stage. It wasn’t until late this evening that the idea came to me. Here’s where my favorite “butterfly experiences” come from : 

Click to view image on deviantART

Click to view image on deviantART

Ladies and gentlemen,

For your own safety,

Please keep your hands, arms, feet, and legs

Inside the ride at all times.”

Clickety-clack, clickety-click, clickety-clack

Anticipation builds with every sound

Clickety-click, clickety-clack, clickety-click

Heart races and butterflies flutter

Higher and higher into the heavens

A moment of breath at the top

Take in the incredible view before

WHOOSH!

Stomach leaps into the throat

Forcing screams of terrified excitement

Fall and rise to fall and rise again

Twisting, turning, tossing, churning

Thrown from zero G

To three or four or more

Before pulling into the station

Please wait until the ride has come

To a complete stop

Thrilling journey

Always over too soon

Wobbly walking away

Adrenaline high!

5 thoughts on “Adrenaline Junkie

  1. You went positive with your butterflies…that’s wonderful! I do love rollercoasters but there is that slow build-up of nerves as they draw you up and up and up before the drop. You captured it well. Very nice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

