Aibohphobia

The prompt at OctPoWriMo for today generated a list of possibilities for me to write about. The concept? Write a list poem. So I have a list of ideas for a list poem… funny? Yeah, I thought so, too! I was drawn to the idea of a palindrome poem today. For an explanation and some examples, check out this site. I confess to not working too hard for this one. I went to Palindrome List and just filtered through what they had on the site and selected the ones that spoke to me. I played with them a bit, rearranging, deleting more than a kept, and came to this piece. The challenge really lay in trying to make these seemingly random sentences and phrases come together in a way that was somehow logical. Not sure I got there, but it is done. 

AibohphobiA_7200e8_1578690

Dammit, I’m mad!

In word salad, alas, drown I.

Evil did I dwell, lewd I did live.

Live not on evil.

 Lived on decaf; faced no devil.

 I’m a lasagna hog, go hang a salami.

 I prefer pi.

Never odd or even…

In words, alas, drown I.

Goddamn mad dog!

Go deliver a dare, vile dog!

Murder for a jar of red rum!

“Rum… rum…” I murmur.

Sex at noon taxes.

Strap on no parts.

In words, drown I.

Strap on no parts.

Sex at noon taxes.

“Rum… rum…” I murmur.

Murder for a jar of red rum!

Go deliver a dare, vile dog!

Goddamn mad dog!

In words, alas, drown I.

Never odd or even…

I prefer pi.

I’m a lasagna hog, go hang a salami.

Lived on decaf; faced no devil.

Live not on evil.

Evil did I dwell, lewd I did live

In word salad, alas, drown I.

Dammit, I’m mad!

17 thoughts on “Aibohphobia

  1. Lovely word play that becomes increasingly surreal and serious at the same time. I end up worrying about this person who is damned by love of words — and lasagna!

Leave a Reply

