Hiding in Plain Sight

Inspired by my own prompt over at OctPoWriMo, this poem is dedicated to my cousin David Paxhia who, without even knowing it, shared poetry with me today.

Image

Look! Over there! Do you see it?

Do you see the poem hiding…

In a baby’s first cry…

In the roar of the crowd at a football game…

In a single drop of water…

In the lyrics of a favorite song…

Look! Over there! Do you see it?

Do you see the poem hiding…

On mother’s lap and father’s shoulders…

On mountains and molehills…

On your sleeve…

On your last nerve…

Look! Over there! Do you see it?

Do you see the poem hiding…

Under a full moon in spring…

Under the boardwalks of summer…

Under a sprawling maple tree in autumn…

Under the Christmas tree…

Look! Over there! Do you see it?

Do you see the poem hiding…

Around the corner…

Around the river bend…

Around the perimeter…

Around the world…

Look! Over there! Do you see it?

Do you see the poem hiding…

Where children are playing…

Where laughter is ringing…

Where cookies are baking…

Where people are accepting and loving…

Look! Over there! Do you see it?

Do you see the poem hiding…

In a lover’s embrace…

In a knowing smile…

In the ebbing tide…

In the eyes of a dying man…

Tell me you see it, too. It’s hiding right there…

In plain sight.

15 thoughts on “Hiding in Plain Sight

  1. I like the rich imagery in this poem and how poetry is both visible and invisible at the same time. Look, over there! This reminds me of another poem I read years ago where the writer found poems scattered in the wind at a gas station. May the month bring many poems your way.

    • Thank you. I struggled a bit with where to begin as I had used this prompt before. I began with a list. Once I had a few lines, the rest just oozed onto the screen. Do you see the poem there on your sleeve? 😉

      • I’m wearing a thermal today, so it has a lot of texture, and reminds me of outdoor activities… There’s probably a poem on my sleeve, if I look hard enough! 😉

    • Thanks! My username came from the childhood nickname my younger brother gave me before he could say “Amy”. It would come out “mimi”. I changed the spelling to emphasize ME and created “seekingmeme” at a point in life when I was really searching for who I wanted to be. Now I’m wondering if I’m not more about “finding” rather than “seeking”!

Leave a Reply

