Autumn Dancer

Confession: This is not my favorite time of year. I’ve always been a fan of bare feet and flip-flops over sweaters and boots. Like it or not, October is here and the world (at least in the Northern Hemisphere) is beginning to show signs of the impending end of another year. Over at OctPoWriMo, I groaned and rolled my eyes when I saw the prompt for the first poem of this daily challenge. “Great,” I thought, “As if writing a poem a day wasn’t challenge enough!” Fact is, the prompts are just suggestions. I could choose to write a poem about bare feet and flip-flops on this first day of October if I wanted to. But then I would miss out on what is, after all, a beautiful and necessary part of life as we know it. Once I made up my mind that I would embrace the challenge, the image appeared right here on my screen. With gratitude to my friend David Moser for the use of his photograph, here is my first contribution to the 31 poems in 31 days Autumn challenge:

photo by David L Moser used with permission

photo by David L Moser
          used with permission

Leaf

red, crunchy

 drifting, spinning, falling

gently, softly, naturally, perfectly

turning, gliding, surrendering

graceful, expressive

Dancer

16 thoughts on “Autumn Dancer

  1. I love this. I have to admit that Autumn is my favourite season (maybe it has something to do with my pale, ghostly skin that burns instantly in summer). You’ve definitely risen to this challenge; you’ve written something beautiful. Thank you.

    • Thank you for your kind words, Esther. I was adopted into a family that have the same easily burned skin. I was, however, born with skin that loves the sun and looks healthier with a little bit of summer color.

Leave a Reply

