Random Haiku

I am really enjoying working with the team at OctPoWriMo! Each contributor is bringing such a unique perspective that I am inspired by them every day as we prepare for the kickoff on October first. After reading Julie’s POST , I had to give her technique a try. I wrote line after line of observations while sitting in Panera on Friday evening. Today, I printed them, cut them apart, and drew them at random to create the following poems. 

Join us for inspiration this month and poetry prompts every day in October!

Join us for inspiration this month and poetry prompts every day in October!

Overdone sandwich

Reminds me of my childhood

I need to go pee

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hot soup from a cup

A box of bagels to go

Walking with purpose

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Staring into space

There are bags under my eyes

What the hell is that?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Overgrown ego

Dropped her glasses on the floor

Single mom of three

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Foolish dreams abound

Lean on the wall for support

References needed

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lipstick and hairspray

Necessary parts of her

Morning ritual

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ok, so that last one wasn’t from my random selection of lines. Instead, it was a response to a writing challenge thrown down by a fellow writer as I was leaving Panera on Friday. She wanted to see if I could turn the “lipstick and hairspray” line into a poem. I told her I’d have it composed by the time I completed the drive home. 

One thought on “Random Haiku

Leave a Reply

