For Flora

For the past 5 weeks, I’ve been on an amazing journey. I have been taking part in Flora Bowley’s intuitive painting e-course Bloom True. I have never considered myself an artist in the traditional sense. Painting was something that other people did. You know, people with talent, with a GIFT for painting. But the first time I watched a video of Flora in action, I thought that maybe, just maybe there was an artist in me, too. I can’t say that I’ve found my painter’s voice in just 5 weeks, but I am on my way. Today, on the final painting day of the class, I return to my “art” with words. This poem is called For Flora.

Canvas 2

First layer of my first complete painting. This layer was completed blindfolded using nothing but my hands to apply the paint.

Paint

Your heart

On canvas.

Use the rainbow

To express your truth.

Allow the paintbrush to

Dance wildly over the blank

Nothingness that was there before.

Surrender to the voice from within,

For it knows more than you could imagine.

My first completed painting from the class.

My first completed painting from the class.

One thought on “For Flora

  1. I can’t believe it is finished and that much time has gone by already! Love the paintings and the poem. I bought paint and canvases but haven’t begun to paint yet. Was meaning to begin yesterday on my birthday but allowed myself to get distracted. I think it is my perfectionist rearing its head; always does when I want to try something new. I am determined though before this week is out to get my fingers into the paint and onto the canvas! Thanks for sharing your journey!

    I was missing you and just had to stop by and see what you were up to. =)

Leave a Reply

