Celebration and Blooming True

When I logged in today, I had a notification icon I’d not seen before. I clicked on it and behold – a wish of Happy Anniversary for 3 years of blogging here at WordPress! Really? Three? Wow… I just celebrated my 1 year wedding anniversary to my best friend on Sunday. I didn’t realize these two events were so close together! Synchronicity at work, I suppose.

For my “birthiversary” (my birthday is in 2 weeks and, as I mentioned above, anniversary was Sunday), my dear husband enrolled me in Flora Bowley’s e-course “Bloom True”. This was really unexpected and incredibly generous of him and I am deeply grateful for this amazing gift. The course began yesterday and I’m already experiencing some interesting insights.

If you’ve never watched this incredible artist at work, check out this video.

First, during a meditation last night, I hit a mental block with one of the images that was suggested for us. This image had very negative connotations for me and I knew I would get nowhere with it. This morning, as I began the meditation again, I shifted the image to something more positive for me, that I have no previous history with. And it worked beautifully! I was able to stay focused, quiet, and still for a full 10 minutes (a HUGE step for me).

This morning, I cleaned up my studio space and created my “sacred space”. I wanted to include art, images, and objects that I love. Here’s the result.

My Sacred Space

One of the objects I included here was a place card from a tea party I attended recently. The hostess had inspiring quotations at every place and we had to identify the quotation that most applied to us. It’s no accident that she chose this particular quotation for me.

"The Creative Process is a process of surrender, not control."

“The Creative Process is a process of surrender, not control.”

After meditating this morning, I set my intentions for the course and posted them beside my painting space.

Intentions

I couldn’t wait to move into the painting process. Flora’s approach involves lots of layering. Here are the results of just the FIRST layer on two canvases.

Canvas 1

Canvas 2

As I was putting the paint on the second canvas, I was moving more than my hand and my wrist. I was literally dancing with the paint. (Of course, the music I’d selected to play during this process was something that makes me want to dance.) If you’ve been around me at all, you know I studied dance from childhood until I was in college. Life got in the way and I quit. Now, I’m finding my way back. With Flora’s encouragement, dancing with paint on my hands was deeply emotional for me. I felt so … FREE! No one was watching (especially not me), so I wasn’t concerned with performing. I was just moving because it felt good. For that moment, I felt JOY like I haven’t felt in a very long time.

I cannot wait to see where this journey is going to take me next!

4 thoughts on “Celebration and Blooming True

  1. Flora Bowley is one of my favorite painters! I am so excited for you that you are able to take her course (and a little, teensy weensy jealous). I would love to take her course some day.
    I was just thinking this week that I need to get me some paint and canvas because that is one of my goals for this year, to allow myself to paint.

    I look forward to seeing how your paintings progress!

  2. Pingback: Balance Eludes Me | Morgan Dragonwillow

Leave a Reply

