For Mom

I was placed for adoption when I was born. I was in foster care for the first five months of my life before being adopted by a wonderful couple and raised as their own. My mom is amazing and I wouldn’t change a thing about having her in my life. At Mother’s Day, I am always reminded that I wasn’t born to this lady. Instead, she chose to be my mother. I am amazed and eternally grateful. At this time, I also think of my biological mother and wonder who she is, how she is doing, etc. I also think of my foster-mother with gratitude. And I think of my own children and how incredibly blessed I am to be their Mom.

Mom

Egg

Fertilized

Then incubated

Nine months to grow in the womb

Labor and delivery

A new life is born

An infant

Cries

Genes

Chromosomes

Shared with a baby

Hair color, eye color, height

Giving birth is enough

Supreme sacrifice

Pray someone

Adopts

Care

 Needs are met

For just a short while

A temporary placement

Until a home can be found

Food, clothing, shelter

A bookmark

Home

Barren

Full of love

Wanting a baby

Needing to be a mother

Accepting another’s child

Love her like your own

Hold her small

Hand

Born

To be Mom

Even to this child

Your love unconditional

Help her become a woman

Guide her baby steps

Watch her grow

Up

Girl

Abandoned

Then the chosen one

Matures knowing she is loved

Becomes a mother herself

She loves her babies

As she learned

Love

Birth

Adoption

Nurturing and growth

Passing to her life’s lessons

Now her children benefit

For what you gave her

Will become

Theirs

5 thoughts on “For Mom

Leave a Reply

