Uninvited

You stopped by uninvited again.

I hate it when you do that.

Why couldn’t you call first?

Or just stay away?

You were holding me gently

As I finally drifted off to sleep.

You held me tighter as I awoke.

You lingered over morning coffee

And a disappointing breakfast.

You made yourself at home

As if you were welcome here.

You shadowed me all day,

Determined to disrupt my momentum.

It worked.

You need to go away.

Crawl back under your rock.

Leave me alone.

Let me go.

One thought on “Uninvited

  1. i love the insistent tone of your starkly beautiful poem. thank you for sharing it with me today. tony

Leave a Reply

