It Could Have Been Me

The poem I offer today is a deeply personal one. The concept has been simmering in my sub-conscious for some time now. I have wanted desperately to write it, but been deeply afraid of it at the same time. When it reached the form I present today, the tears began to fall. I wept with a sorrow that has been held back since December 14, 2012. As a former public school student, then teacher, now one dealing with mental illness, I dedicate this poem in humble and loving memory of all victims of the tragic events on public school campuses. 

 

Chaos, gunshots, screams are heard.

Media covers the absurd.

Sad loss of life, so hard to see…

But by Grace, it could have been me.

 

Teacher acted as human shield.

Her precious students kept concealed.

Crazy gunman on a spree.

But by Grace, it could have been me.

 

Shocking in this day and age,

Children targets of madman’s rage.

Trapped with nowhere else to flee…

But by Grace, it could have been me.

 

Folks of Newtown or Columbine

Look back, wonder was there a sign?

Was there a way they could foresee?

But by Grace, it could have been me.

 

Shootings and needless loss of life

Cause us heartbreak, pain, and strife.

Why can’t we live in harmony?

But by Grace, it could have been me.

 

Mental illness unleashed with guns

Held by one society shuns.

How could we know what was to be?

But by Grace, it could have been me.

 

Mental illness controlled by meds;

Others still trapped inside their heads

With no real way to set them free.

But by Grace, it could have been me.

 

Overwhelmed by strong emotion,

Burdened by an insane notion,

It’s OK, you may disagree…

But by Grace, it could have been me.

4 thoughts on “It Could Have Been Me

    • Wow. For you to like a poem is a huge compliment! Thank you!

      As for catharsis, not so much. However, it was very liberating to say it and then put it “out there”.

Leave a Reply

