I Dreamt of Eggs

Inspired once again by MorganDragonWillow, I was drawn to write an “E” poem about something edible for day 5 of NaPoWriMo. There was a bit of synchronicity in the timing here, as I did recently have a dream about eggs. Here, then, is my offering. May you find it tasty…

Image

I dreamt of eggs,

poached,

sealed and saved

for later use.

My stomach empty,

I open the fridge

to find the eggs

not as good as they once were, 

but better than they’ll ever be again.

Only four eggs 

remain edible and are plated

atop a nest of English muffins and cheese.

The other two eggs

are thrown on the trash heap.

They land 

sunny side down.

4 thoughts on “I Dreamt of Eggs

Leave a Reply

