First Day of NaPoWriMo/Camp NaNoWriMo

^The prompt for today on the NaPoWriMo website suggested writing a poem that begins with the first line of another poem. With credit to Joyce Kilmer and her poem “Trees”, I offer my first poem of this month of poetic indulgence:

Image

Calming Waters

 

I think that I shall never see

A poem as lovely as the sea.

I know if it were up to me,

The ocean’s where I want to be.

 

The ocean stretches far and vast

And helps me to remember past

Troubles that weren’t meant to last.

 

Along the shore of Chesapeake Bay

The waves roll in and wash away

The dreary dust of day to day

I sit and watch the seagulls play.

 

It’s peaceful on the sandy beach

Umbrellas offer shade for each

Who want escape from worries’reach.

 

When winds are still across the lake

And no boats pass to leave their wake

Something makes my tired heart ache

For time to take a longer break.

 

But the ocean stretches far and vast

And helps me to remember past

Troubles that weren’t meant to last.

 

I know if it were up to me,

The ocean’s where I want to be.

I think that I shall never see

A poem as lovely as the sea.

 

 

One thought on “First Day of NaPoWriMo/Camp NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

