Me and My Best Friend

As you may have noticed, my readers, I have not been posting much since the end of NaPoWriMo. I am still very much involved in creating poetry, art, and the like, but some other big things are happening in my personal life right now that are demanding my attention.

Image

 

I will soon be getting married to my best friend. We do have a bit of a fairy tale romance. We met in college more than twenty-five years ago and have been friends all this time. Last summer, we had a conversation that changed the direction of both our lives. We’d both been dating and hating it – all the getting-to-know-you stuff, the desire to be loved and to love, the awkwardness of the early phases of dating. We finally realized that the only reason we hadn’t dated each other was simply geographic in nature. We currently live six hours apart (by car obeying all posted speed limits). 

We began dating last August and from that very first date, I began falling in love with my best friend. We had the kind of comfort with each other that only comes from knowing one another for so many years. Neither of us felt the need to try to impress the other. We were just ourselves. For the first time in my life, I was able to let all the walls down because I was out with a man that I trusted. All of the pieces began falling into place. My children love him. My parents love him (a FIRST for me). Most importantly, I love him. He is that missing link that I’ve been searching for and I could not be happier. 

As I mentioned, we will be getting married soon. The date is a secret for now, but it will be happening before too much longer. I have already resigned from my job here as a public school teacher and am packing up my belongings to move the six hours northeast to live with him. For the next several weeks, I expect to be busy (overwhelmed?) with the process of planning, packing, and moving. I will attempt to make regular posts here to keep you, my reader, informed and perhaps entertained with tales along the journey. 

For now, peace and love to all – 

MeMe

One thought on “Me and My Best Friend

  1. What a lovely story. I married my best friend. We met when I was 3 and he was 7, when his family came to our place of worship when on holiday to the lovely area that was my home. We met again every summer till I was 12 and then they holidayed elsewhere. Than at 18, after I’d had a terrible year of poor health and other troubles he walked into my life again. It wasn’t love straight away, it was friendship, admiration for each other and fun. When he finally confessed he had fallen in love with me I wasn’t sure that I wanted things to change but sometime later I realised that he was my everything. We married over 30 years ago and we are very happy. We have been well blessed. We believe that because the friendship was sound before the passion ignited that we have a very solid foundation for our marriage, I love him more every year that passes and yes, it’s still fun..

    I wish you both a very very happy marriage.

    P.S. I found your blog via Creative Every Day.

Leave a Reply

