My Schizophrenic Soundtrack

** To close out NaPoWriMo, I had the thought to write a poem composed entirely of song titles. Now, understand that I only used song titles of music I actually listen to. They cross the spectrum of musical genres – hence, the title that I selected. For you music nerds (like me), I hope you recognize many of the tunes I have chosen. I will not disclose at this time the actual number of songs in my poem. Feel free to make a guess, though!

On another note, this month has been an amazing journey. I have become addicted to the process of writing something every day beyond my daily private journals. While I may not post something here every day in the future, I will be continuing to write poetry, prose, and fiction to share with you, my dear readers. Thank you for stopping by and letting me know that you were here. It has been an honor to share with you! Now – on with the poem…

I stand on the highway to hell and it sucks to be me.

In my life, I’ve been the best imitation of myself

But everywhere I go I find I’m better than I used to be.

I heard I was in town and turned a whiter shade of pale.

It’s not the same and I blame it on Kristofferson.

He went to Paris, livin’ on a prayer, and said forget you!

You’re outta your mind if you don’t express yourself

And go your own way.

I used to be the owner of a lonely heart,

But come Monday, I’m leaving on a jet plane.

I have two tickets to paradise.

We were born free, so let’s set fire to the rain.

Here we go – let’s dream on, my daydream believer!

Let’s grab time in a bottle and drink on it.

We can have one bourbon, one scotch, one beer,

And a tequila sunrise in Margaritaville.

After all, it’s five o’clock somewhere!

You’re somebody that I used to know, but I know better now.

There ain’t no other man, so I turn to you and nothing else matters.

All I need is you and a little afternoon delight just rolling in the deep.

The way that you love me has me addicted to love.

Come home to me, wild thing.

Let it be me at last.

Bring me to life – walk this way

And take me down by the lazy river.

Take it to the limit when the stars burn down

And marry me

Because my life would suck without you.

That’s the story of my life.

One thought on “My Schizophrenic Soundtrack

Leave a Reply

