To My Birth Mother

I cannot imagine how hard it must have been
To be unwed and pregnant the way times were back then.
I cannot imagine what it felt like to be you
To give yourself away just to find out you’d been used.
I cannot imagine the tears you must have shed
To know you’d have a baby that would need be clothed and fed.
I cannot imagine the emotions that you felt
I’m sure there was shame since you lived in the Bible belt.
I cannot imagine the questions you must’ve had
Should you? Could you? Why you? Would this end up good or bad?
I cannot imagine the strength you must have shown
To give birth to a child that you could never call your own.
I cannot imagine feeling the agony of birth
To have to then surrender the child to a different place on earth.
I cannot imagine the struggle and the strife
That you endured so you could give this child a better life.

But I know you can’t imagine the depth of gratitude
I feel for you for having the right attitude.
I know you can’t imagine the love I have for you
For sending me away; it was the right thing to do.
I know you can’t imagine the life I’ve lived ‘til now
There have been struggles, sure, but it’s all been good somehow.
I know you can’t imagine the parents that took me in
They raised me well and loved me just like I was blood kin.
I know you can’t imagine the things I like to do
I wonder if my love of math and arts come from you.
I know you can’t imagine the ways that I have grown
I went to college, got two degrees, and had kids of my own.
I know you can’t imagine what my two boys are like
They’re sweet and strong and lots of fun; we are a lot alike.
I know you can’t imagine what life is like for me
I’d like to get to know you… maybe someday, we’ll see.

2 thoughts on “To My Birth Mother

Leave a Reply

