The A.D.D. Blues

I made myself a promise when I signed on for NaPoWriMo and that is that I will not edit my poems until after I have them all written. With that in mind and with the knowledge that I have Attention Deficit Disorder, please enjoy this stream-of-consciousness response to the prompt from the NaPoWriMo site today… Image

 

I can’t seem to focus my mind today
I can’t seem to focus my mind today
I can’t seem to focus and I want to play.

Too many ideas are whirring in my head
Too many ideas are whirring in my head
I don’t like it when I am being misled.

My brain is buzzing with so much noise
My brain is buzzing with so much noise
Oh look! Over there are some really cute boys!

I’ve got lots to do and can’t seem to start
I’ve got lots and lots to do but just can’t seem to start
I need to get some groceries to fill this shopping cart.

Did I forget about that appointment this afternoon?
Oh no, I think I forgot that appointment this afternoon!
Where is my head? I have a vacation coming soon.

I need to get some supper on the stove
I need to get some supper on the stove
Somewhere in this mess is a wonderful treasure trove

Makes no sense the way my mind turns
Really don’t make no sense how my mind turns
I ate some buffalo chicken and, man, that stuff burns.

Don’t want no more crazy life like this
Don’t want no more crazy life like this
Feels like I’m staring into a swirling wild abyss

One thing at a time is something I can’t do
Just one thing at a time is something I can’t do
That’s why I paint and write and sew and look for something new

I’m in too deep, I’m over my head
Yes I’m in too deep and over my head
If I can’t get it together … hey, look at that really bright red!

There has to be a way to fix this mess
Yeah I know there is a way to somehow fix this mess
I wonder if I can still wear that pretty green dress?

Doctor says I need to medicate
My doctor says I sure need to medicate
I need to mail that entry before it’s too late.

I’m so confused by what I think and feel
I’m really bad confused by what I think and feel
I don’t want to believe that this illness is real.

I struggle to manage details, especially when they’re tiny
I really can’t manage details, especially those that are tiny
I need some help with this, but …. oh look! There’s something shiny!

How can there be something wrong with being this way?
How is there anything wrong with being this way?
Lady Gaga says it’s ok because I was born this way.

I need a second opinion so I’ll have to have a referral
I want a second opinion so I’ve got to have a referral
Hey look! ….. I see a squirrel!

6 thoughts on “The A.D.D. Blues

  1. Doctor says I need to medicate
    My doctor says I sure need to medicate
    I need to mail that entry before it’s too late.

    Lol!It’s nice to know I’m not alone in this affliction! Great stuff and I look forward to reading more of your work this month!

    • I have to medicate to function as a single mom of 2…lol. I appreciate your extra stanza! You are definitely not alone! Keep doing what you do and knowing your voice is a powerful one!

Leave a Reply

