The Bipolar Blues

I’m all broken down and I cry all night long.

Yeah I’m completely broken down and I cry all night long.

I feel so all alone

That I decided to write this song.

I used to get up every morning and pretend I was ok.

Yeah I put my mask on every morning and pretended I was ok.

For months I went through all the motions

And would fake the normal days.

The day finally came when the mask no longer fit.

Yeah the day finally came when the mask no longer fit.

My insides all came pouring out

And I was ready to quit.

Thoughts of ending it all had filled my head at times.

Yeah thought of suicide had filled my head at times.

I completely lost control

And my life was no longer mine.

Bipolar depression had its grip on me,

Yeah deep bipolar depression had a very firm grip on me.

I desperately needed help

Or I would cease to be.

Many people that I loved soon from me took their leave.

Yeah many so called friends soon from me took their leave.

Like cockroaches when the light turns on

As if I had a contagious disease.

Now if I’d been told I had cancer, they’d have rallied by my side,

Yeah if the diagnosis was cancer, they’d have rallied by my side.

But mental illness was just too much

So they left me alone and I cried.

I’m all broken down and I cry all night long.

Yeah I’m completely broken down and I cry all night long.

I have felt so all alone

And now I’m done writing this song.

One thought on “The Bipolar Blues

  1. This is so very true, Amy. Thank you for posting it. Mental illness IS an illness, just like cancer, MS, etc. It took losing my son for ME to realize it. Love you bunches!!

Leave a Reply

