Collateral Damage

I’ve not been a writer for very long, but I am learning so much from this process. One of my most powerful lessons has been the collateral damage that comes along with being a regularly practicing writer. When I did my writing on the computer, I never witnessed this particular destruction. However, now that I have reverted (expanded?) to using pen and paper, I have begun to witness death more frequently. In fact, just this morning it happened again. I was sitting in the diner writing my morning pages and I killed another pen. It seemed too soon. I hadn’t yet completely recovered from the loss of the one before, yet here I was guilty of another murder. I’ve lost count now of how many of these deaths I am responsible for.

Leave a Reply

